Teams head to XC Club Nationals; Course designer promises no “grass track meet”

GBTC is sending two teams to Bend, OR, for the USATF Club National Cross-country Championships. The men’s and women’s open teams are accompanied by coaches Derderian and Hemingway this year. Once there, the harriers aim to “embrace the mud.”

In 1979, GBTC won the national XC championships with the lowest score ever. After the superstars moved on, GBTC did not go the the national championships until every year after 1998. A summary of the club’s results in the modern era is available here.

Here are our runners competing at Saturday’s race.

Women Open Women’s 6 km
Greater Boston Track Club – Team A
Kerri Leonhardt, Alyson Millett, Alyse Rocco, Alee Rowley, Elizabeth Ryan

Men Open Men’s 10 km
Greater Boston Track Club – Team A
Michael Carlone, Robert Espinosa, Caleb Evanter, Anthony Gonsalves, Daniel Hall, Matthew Haringa, Ryan Irwin, Neel Tarneja

60-64 Men Masters Men’s 10 km
Tom Derderian Greater Boston Track Club