Men win USATF-NE Grant

The GBTC men’s team will be traveling to Chicago, IL, this weekend for the first ever USATF National Club Team 8 km Championships. The team members are Brennan Bonner, Brian McNamara, Matt Haringa, Ryan Irwin, and Chris Kibler. The championship has a 17 minute 5K qualifying standard. Twenty-six teams are entered.

GBTC is the only team from New England attending the race, and is traveling on a USATF-NE grant awarding them $150 each, and will receive lodging from the meet. Team prize money ranges from $3,000 for first to $1,000 for fifth place. The championship is part of the Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle 8k taking place on Sunday April 7th, in Grant Park, IL. The Hansons-Brooks Distance Project won last year’s team race and have two teams entered this year.

About Derderian, Tom

Coach Greater Boston Track Club Senior Writer New England Runner Magazine
This entry was posted in Roads, USATF-NE. Bookmark the permalink.